Skip to content

Advisory Board

The Waukee APEX Advisory Board was established in 2014 to strategically guide the development of the APEX program. The board consists of business leaders in the community who meet quarterly to support strategic planning, recommend new courses and prioritized the economic sectors critical to the community and future workforce needs.

Throughout the year advisory board members provide introductions to business partners, help identify APEX student projects when needed and assist staff in addressing issues that affect the operations of the APEX program.

Waukee Community School District’s Board of Education ratifies all actions of the APEX Advisory Board.

Advisory Board Members:

Spindustry Logo

Michael Bird


University of Iowa Logo

Dawn Bowlus

University of Iowa / Jacobsen Institute

ABI Logo

Mike Ralston

Association for Business and Industry

Greater Des Moines Partnership

Gene Meyer

Greater Des Moines Partnership


Rob Denson



Mark Steffen


University of Iowa Logo

Dr. Tom Rice

University of Iowa

Weitz Logo

Jim McCulloh


Iowa Healthcare Logo

Elliott Smith

Iowa HealthCare Collaborative

MidAmerican Energy Logo

Deb Calvert

MidAmerican Energy

Waukee logo

Mindi Heitland

Waukee School-to-Work Coordinator

Amson Technology Logo

Peg Armstrong

Gustafson Amson Technology

Atlantic Bottling Logo

Kirk Tyler

Atlantic Bottling Company

John Deere Logo

Chris Batdorf

John Deere ISG

Unity Point Health Logo

David Stark

UnityPoint Health

Meals for the Heartland Logo

Susan Bunz

Meals from the Heartland

Kemin Logo

Robert Stomp


DLL Financial

Gustavo Lichtenberger


Fidelity and Guaranty logo

Chris Littlefield

Fidelity & Guaranty Life

Telligen logo

Brian Barry


Iowa workforce development logo

Beth Townsend

Iowa Workforce Development

 Iowa State University Logo

Dr. Rahul Parsa

Iowa State University

First National Bank Logo

Dean Whitaker

First National Bank

Unity Point Health Logo

Swati Panchal

UnityPoint Health